Vote On My Tagline!

June 19, 2008 at 3:42 am 15 comments

It’s about time I assign a tagline to my blog and what better way to do so than have my readers – all 5 of them at last count – vote on their favorites. In case you haven’t figured it out already, my blog focuses on social media and web 2.0 through a communications/public relations lens. I’d love for the tagline to convey this theme in a fun and catchy way. This might be a tall order, particularly when you read some of the options below. But I’d welcome your thoughts on which tagline comes closest.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

Melissa’s Musings

A) A Girl’s Guide to Social Media

B) Web 2.0 from a PR Perspective

C) Beyond Press Releases: Your Daily Dose of Web 2.0

D) Communications in a Web 2.0 World

Please comment to submit your vote. And feel free to suggest your own tagline. I can’t promise cash prizes, but you’ll get a special shout out in a future blog post if I choose your suggestion. And thanks go to my coworker Kevin for coming up with this poll idea!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Don’t Be Evil Make More People Care

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  June 19, 2008 at 5:24 am

    My vote is for A: a girl’s guide to social media. It seems to me that this tag line would speak to a wider audience. Also, I hope that you are doing well! I miss talking to you, and hope we fix that soon! Love ya!

    Reply
  • 2. Sus  |  June 19, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    This is so fun! Congrats on getting a blog up! I’m excited to follow it. I like the first tag line…I think it’s cute and sassy. But how important is it that you include a reference to Web 2.0? If that’s really important, you could revise it to read: A Girl’s Guide to Social Media and Web 2.0 (???)

    Can’t wait to see you in July!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Veronica  |  June 19, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    A is my personal fav, however if you don’t want it to limit your audience, then C would be my next choice.

    Reply
  • 4. Jess Papp  |  June 19, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Wow! This is great! I take it grad school is going well. Congrats!

    As for the tag line, I like: A Girl’s Guide to Social Media. It is simple and sweet. Keep up the great blogging.

    Reply
  • 5. Rob  |  June 19, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    I’d vote for ‘A’ but I’d also like to propose the tagline:

    Melissa’s Musings – “More than Memes the Eye”

    It is a word play on the Transformers catch-phrase and internet memes. Transformers 2 is filming a scene in my hometown of Bethlehem and therefore anything Transformers-related is awesome. Internet Memes are also very web 2.0, remember Tay Zonday-Chocolate Rain, the Star Wars kid, and Rickrollin’…

    Reply
  • 6. Erin  |  June 19, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Thanks to Wikipedia, I now know what the terms “social media” and “Web 2.0” encompass. Initially, I really had no idea, so none of the taglines sparked any interest. If you are targeting an audience that is specifically into social media and Web 2.0, I would choose C.

    I still feel like the concepts of social media and Web 2.0 are a lot more exciting than these taglines convey. Plus, your entries seem to incorporate more than just social media and Web 2.0. Reading the taglines, I thought that all of your entries would be about social media, Web 2.0, Communications, PR… but after reading your entries, I don’t think this is the case. This is another reason I like C, because it points to the idea of a new forum for sharing ideas, but doesn’t imply that all the entries will be about Web 2.0 or Social Media. In order to get this, however, I still had to go to Wikipedia to figure out what Web 2.0 was.

    Maybe you can come up with a tagline incorporating the ideas of “social media” and “Web 2.0” without specifically using these words? If you think most people know what Web 2.0 is, I would go with choice C.

    Reply
  • 7. Crystal  |  June 19, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    I definitely think “A Girl’s Guide to Media” is super fun and my favorite by far. Could be limiting in some views, yet could pull people in out of interest. Still fun:-) My second would be “Beyond Press Releases: Your Daily Dose of Web 2.0”

    Reply
  • 8. Barbara  |  June 19, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I vote for A!

    Reply
  • 9. Jen  |  June 19, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    I like C the best…A is a little less professional sounding…but I’m not sure what you’re going for. Cool blog! Thanks for letting me know about it.

    Reply
  • 10. Meghan  |  June 20, 2008 at 1:02 am

    How cool is this?? I vote for “A” myself, although I really like Rob’s idea too. That totally cracked me up. 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Klea  |  June 20, 2008 at 10:35 am

    I like A and C, depending on what audience you’re looking to grab.

    Great idea (and love what you’ve been posting)!

    Reply
  • 12. Kevin  |  June 20, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    How about a combination of A and C…or vice versa?

    Beyond Press Releases: A Girl’s Guide to Social Media

    I like the idea of moving “beyond press releases.” That’s what you’re doing by going to school. Also, I think the combination will help to attract your audience. These may be people in the field who are looking to take their work to the next level, so they’ll want to know about social media.

    And, I feel like “social media” covers “Web 2.0” or at least the aspect of it that you want to address, so I think you can leave Web 2.0 out.

    I also like Rob’s suggestion.

    Reply
  • 13. mknac  |  June 23, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    All your potential tag lines are good but I’ve got to throw my hat in with B) Web 2.0 from a PR Perspective

    I think that sums it all up nicely!!

    Reply
  • 14. Shannon  |  June 27, 2008 at 6:38 am

    I like both A and D … or how about “Conversations on Social Media” or “Conversations 2.0”? The “social media” aspect of A is important to your writings and obviously “communication” and “2.0” gives your audience a sense of your direction. Regardless, I think your blog is fantastic. You have such unique and informative topics that everyone can connect with.
    Good luck with the tagline!

    Reply
  • 15. Kurt Flore  |  March 2, 2014 at 8:44 am

    A Java-based platform will likely never have a lot more than you need to be able to set
    trades, and you are going to need to use some external charting program in order to
    view price data. Mind You, a long dividend history means company is good position this is exactly why distributing dividends since
    so very long. For the examples, a tick on the corn contract
    is $12.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds

Class del.icio.us Feed


